English Version

Los medicamentos de esta clase principalmente se usan para tratar la esquizofrenia y otras formas de psicosis. Muchos de estos medicamentos se clasifican en la categoría conocida como fenotiazinas . Esta categoría incluye:

  • hidrocloruro de clorpromazina (Thorazine)
  • flufenazina (Permitil, Prolixin)
  • besilato de mesoridazina (Serentil)
  • perfenazina (Trilafon)
  • proclorperazina (Compazine)
  • hidrocloruro de promazina (Sparine)
  • hidrocloruro de prometazina (Anergan [inyectable], Phenergan)
  • hidrocloruro de tioridazina (Mellaril)
  • hidrocloruro de trifluoperazina (Stelazine)
  • hidrocloruro de triflupromazina (Vesprin [inyectable])
  • y otros
Dos medicamentos más recientes, olanzapina (Zyprexa) y clozapina (Clozaril), se llaman antipsicóticos atípicos .

Consulte Fenotiazinas o Antipsicóticos Atípicos para más información.

Last Reviewed agosto 2013

Health Information Library content is provided by EBSCO Publishing, fully accredited by URAC. URAC is an independent, nonprofit health care accrediting organization dedicated to promoting health care quality through accreditation, certification and commendation.


This content is reviewed regularly and is updated when new and relevant evidence is made available. This information is neither intended nor implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider prior to starting any new treatment or with questions regarding a medical condition.


To send comments or feedback to EBSCO's Editorial Team regarding the content please e-mail